Posted in Linux, Other, Tutorials/Tips, Windows

Recovering RAID 0 after installing Intel Rapid Storage Technology

For last two years I was using Raid 0 on my 4 hard disk drives. I have created Raid 0 for two SSD and two HDD, as result I had two Raid 0 configured:
One for SSD with Windows 10
Other for stuff from HDD
Performance was very good and I did not have any nuclear secretes which I need to keep safe in case or Raid failure, all stuff I did not want to lose was stored in Google Drive and Dropbox.

I was using GA-Z87X-SLI without any issues, but yesterday decided that I need to update software and drivers, which lead to installing updated version of Intel Rapid Storage Technology, which for some reason corrupted my computer configuration. Now comes the fun part:
1. Computer no longer boots.
2. I no longer can access BIOS as it is stuck during loading at Raid screen.
3. Unplugging second raid disks still does not allow to access Bios or Windows. Trying access the bios causes freeze, loading Windows causes BSOD.

Here is what I did to recover from this:

  1. You need to get into BIOS to get out of the Raid configuration. Only way to do that without getting in to BIOS is to reset it. That is done quite easy, power off the computer, disconnect it from Power Supply and take our the battery from motherboard. Wait for minute. I waited maybe 30s and clicked power button few times.
  2. Now put the battery back and connect Power Supply. Start the computer, it will now have all BIOS settings set to default, which means there is no more Raid.
  3. You will not be able to access your old information just now, as Windows for me and other stuff is still stored in Raid0 which now is even no longer shown. Go to the BIOS settings and change configuration to RAID. Reboot.
  4. If you are lucky, like me, then only one of Raid0 will be corrupted. In my case it was HDD_Raid which was not a system drive. What is surprising that SSD_Raid was discovered automatically and re-connected just fine, without any issues. Now I could boot in to Windows, but most of my files were in that HDD_Raid.
  5. You also should notice, that one of HDD is now listed as Non-RAID Disk. If yes, then there quite big chance to recover the information. Go in to your Raid configuration screen, for me it is CTRL+I during the computer boot.
  6. Once you are in that screen, remove other member of the that failed Raid, so both now would be Non-Raid disk. You will be informed that information will be lost, you will lose partition, but not the information inside.
  7. Re-create Raid0 with identical configuration, if you have unplugged Hard Disk, make sure they are connected identically to the same ports.
  8. Now boot in to Windows, do not format or create partition in it. Get TestDisk.  Launch it, it will ask to create new Log file, do it. Use it to scan your re-created Raid for lost partitions, it literally should take few seconds. Once they are located, use same utility to write these changes, then reboot the computer.
    *If it takes long to complete and does not locate anything, you mostly have plugged your HDD in wrong order, not the same as before.
  9. If all is done correctly, you should be able to get your Raid0 with all the info in it back and running.

Leave a Reply

