Posted in Linux, Tutorials/Tips

Arch Linux tutorial: part 1 base+base-devl

First you might want to look here, for instruction how to set up wireless connection, but if you are comfortable with Ethernet, then lets begin. I am going to show in this part how to install the very base of Arch with tools which will allow to install all you need in later tutorials.

Go to Arch website and download “NetInstall Image“, because core disk is now 8 months old, and mostly all packages are outdated (I doubt you want to use old packages). Burn and boot in to it. After running text is over, type:

# /arch/setup

Arch Linux Installation Framework will start. You must complete all steps in order to have working Arch system.

1. Select Sources: it is your choice which repositories you want to use, I have selected all of them. Which means I might get latest packages, but at risk of stability. Then select mirror, I select first, but you might choose other, which is closer to you.
Then you will by asked to set up network, I choose wlan0 (wireless) because I am installing this to real laptop machine, you can choose eth0 (Ethernet cable), it won’t make any difference, only says Arch from which network card to download packages. Next option depends on your network, but mostly you will need to answer yes to use DHCP. If everything is okay, you will get message that network is configured.

2. Set editor: you have only two options, nano or vi, since I am familiar with nano, and other tutorial will by using nano, I suggest you to use it too.

3. Set Clock: select your region, I have selected “Europe”, and Timezone “Vilnius”. Did not changed other settings in here, selected third option “Return to Main Menu”.

4. Prepare hard drive(s): if you can not understand how partitions work and what is swap or ext*/fat32/ntfs I can say just, you can forget installing and using Arch, it will by to complicated for you. You should do this part as you want, but I still going to write what I am going to do. Since I have already created partitions, I have selected third option “Manually Configure block devices, filesystems and mountpoints“. Then selected “label“. Then you should see all partitions in your HDD. I have in there:

/dev/sda1 raw - 394240MiB N
/dev/sda2 raw - 100 MiB N
/dev/sda3 raw - 30637MiB N
/dev/sda5 raw - 15360MiB N
/dev/sda6 raw - 15360MiB N
/dev/sda7 raw - 15360Mib N
/dev/sda8 raw - 5877MiB N

PS: I did not missed sda4, I have made extended partition on my system.
Since I am going to install Arch to sda5 I have selected it and clicked “Enter” then answered “No“, since I do not want to recreate file-system. From list then selected “Ext4” file system format, and pressed “Enter“. Then selected “/ root” and again pressed “Enter“.
Now I went to sda8 and clicked “Enter” then answered “No“, since I do not want to recreate file-system. From the list then selected “swap Swap“. Now me partition tree looked like this:

/dev/sda1 raw - 394240MiB N
/dev/sda2 raw - 100 MiB N
/dev/sda3 raw - 30637MiB N
/dev/sda5 raw - 15360MiB ext4 N / ---
/dev/sda6 raw - 15360MiB N
/dev/sda7 raw - 15360Mib N
/dev/sda8 raw - 5877MiB swap N ---

Selected “Done” and pressed “Enter“. I was warned that I do not have separate partition for /boot, selected “Ignore” and clicked “enter”. Since it is not really needed. Then you will by informed that partitions were successfully created. Then selected fifth option “Return to Main Menu”

5. Select Packages: packages will by refreshed, since we are using “NetInstall image” which downloads all packages from the internet. It might take a while on slow internet. Also it depends how much repositories you selected in first option, since I took all of them it was quite long. After refresh is done you will get notified that this part is split in to three stages. First part is selecting bootloader, since GRUB is quite popular, and I have other OS in Laptop (Windows7, Bodhi, Ubuntu) I have selected GRUB. Now you can selected packages which you want to install, since this tutorial it only first part, in which we install only base and tools for compiling, you need only to have selected: base and base-dvel for some reason there were two base-devel, so I selected both of them, in total 3 package groups to install.
Then you will be able to select from huge list of packages, since base packages are already selected you can install as extra package sudo, of-course you select and install all kind of software here, but since this is only install of base we hit “Enter” to start downloading base packages. PS: it is not wise to install all kind of software in here, since some requires extra config, and when installing lots of them at same time, you might forget to configure them properly.

6. Install packages: step in which all selected packages will by downloaded and installed. Since I selected only base and base-devel it was 130 packages, in total 148.26 MB for download, and 521.46 MB after installation. Click “Enter” to  go back to main menu after it is done.

7. Configure system: 

/etc/rc.conf  – you should enter wanted hostname after text in it “HOSTNAME=*******” then click CTRL+X write “Y” and push “Enter

/etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist – remove mark # from your wanted mirrors, you can have as many mirrors as you want. Save it with same steps as before.

Root-Password – enter wanted password for root accound

Select Done and click “Enter

8. Install bootloader: you might adjust settings in it to make it boot your other os, since I prefere Ubuntu GRUB, I will use it to restore it, and add arch to it. Select HDD to which install GRUB, if you have only one HDD it must be sda.

9. Exit Installer: select it and write reboot in console.

Now you should see Arch GRUB, select it ant boot it.

Log in with:
root
your enter password

Now you should create a new user, you can do it with this command:
# useradd -m -g users -G audio,lp,optical,storage,video,wheel,games,power -s /bin/bash UserName

passwd UserName

password_you_want
password_you_want

This is end of part 1, now you have working system, from which you can set up your wanted windows manager.

Leave a Reply

